BREAKING: INEC declares APC’s Uzodinma winner of Imo governorship election

Governor Hope Uzodinma of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been named the winner of Saturday’s Imo State gubernatorial election by the Independent National Electoral (INEC).

The winner was announced early on Sunday morning at the state collation office in Owerri by the INEC Returning Officer, Abayomi Sunday, vice chancellor of the Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Ekiti State.

According to Sunday, the APC candidate received 540,308 votes, defeating the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate who was closest to him, Samuel Anyanwu, who received 71,503 votes.

Athan Achonu, the candidate for the Labour Party, came in third place with 64,081 votes. All fifteen other contenders received fewer than 10,000 votes.

INEC reports that 2,419,922 voters were registered to vote in the state and that 2,318,919 Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) had been obtained. There was less than 40 per cent voting turnout.

Following his proclamation on Sunday, Uzodinmma will serve as governor of Imo for an additional four years.

“Hope Odidika Uzodinma having satisfied all the requirements of law and scored majority of the lawful votes, is hereby declared elected,” Sunday declared.

Back to top button