FG inaugurates task force to tackle illegal chartered flights

In a bid to combat illegal chartered flight operations and associated illicit activities, the Federal Government has established an eight-member Ministerial Task Force Committee.

This was contained in a statement made public by the ministry on Thursday and signed by Odutayo Oluseyi, its Head, Press & Public Affairs.

The committee, inaugurated by the Honourable Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo, aims to address the significant security and financial concerns posed by these illegal activities.

The inauguration ceremony was held at the Minister’s conference room in Abuja. Minister Keyamo emphasized his 5-Point Agenda, which includes Safety, Infrastructure, Support for Local Operators, Human Capacity Deployment, and Revenue Generation.

He highlighted the need for stringent measures to regulate private aircraft operations, which have been implicated in money laundering, drug trafficking, and other illegal activities.

Keyamo highlighted the necessity of decisive action following consultations with industry regulators and stakeholders. He tasked the committee with restoring confidence in the aviation industry and ensuring that all flights adhere to the highest safety and legal standards.

The committee’s Terms of Reference include:

1. Inventorying all Private Non-commercial Flight (PNCF) holders and Air Operator Certificate (AOC) holders.

2. Investigating the persistence of illegal charters by PNCF holders despite existing regulations.

3. Verifying the authenticity and validity of pilots’ and crew members’ professional licenses.

4. Recommending additional measures for regulatory agencies to curb illegal activities.

5. Suggesting appropriate sanctions for defaulters.

6. Proposing further monitoring measures for private aircraft operations in Nigeria.

The Task Force is chaired by Capt. Ado Sanusi, who expressed gratitude for the opportunity and committed to addressing the issues comprehensively.

The members of the Task Force are:

– Capt. Ado Sanusi – Chairman

– Capt. Roland Iyayi – Vice Chairman

– Acting Director of Air Transport, FMA&AD – Secretary

– Theresa A. Babayo (DAYR-NCAA) – Member

– A nominee from the National Security Adviser – Member

– Capt. Daniel Quansah – Member

– Capt. Patrick Ogunlowo – Member

– Obafemi Bajomo (SA-HMA) – Member

This initiative reflects the government’s commitment to enhancing the safety and integrity of Nigeria’s aviation sector.

Back to top button